Audio Editing – Session 2

‘At the Zoo’ by William Makepeace Thackeray

Image

First I saw the white bear, then I saw the black;

BEARS

Then I saw the camel with a hump upon his back;
Then I saw the grey wolf, with mutton in his maw;
Then I saw the wombat waddle in the straw;
Then I saw the elephant a-waving of his trunk;
Then I saw the monkeys-mercy, how unpleasantly they-smelt!Image

I decided to make an audio tape on animals in the zoo. I coupled pictures of animals with a voice recording for each verse of a poem and believe this is a great way for children to develop their  learning and understanding through listening.

Another way of using audio would be in a phonics lesson. I experimented with the IWB and voice recordings with green words ‘dog’ ‘fox’, clicking on a letter to then hear my voice sounding it out. I did, however, find the drawback that i was unable to attach a voicenote sounding the whole word, alongside separate voicenotes for each letter. In a classroom situation to get around this problem (if you would call it that) i would have to click quickly on each word in order to sound the whole word out.Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

